Wake Park Triple Crown at Hexagon Recap

Raph cleaning up again

The best cable park riders in the world converged at the brand new Hexagon Wake Park in North Carolina this past weekend to battle it out for stop no. 2 of the Monster Energy Wake Park Triple Crown series. Park riding is progressing at an incredible pace and the riding formats for the different divisions at the Triple Crown stops makes for one of the most action-packed, progressive contests to watch.

As the riders moved from the semifinals to the final round the level of riding got crazier and crazier. Moves like backside 9s, mute half cab double rolls, and even frontside and backside 1080′s were all going down. The obstacles only division was a jam style format, where all the riders are on the water at once. So needless to say keeping up with the action was nearly impossible. Anywhere you looked on the course at any given time there was a rider stomping something.

When it was all said and done a couple common names were once again at the top of the podiums. Raph Derome continued his park-riding perfection this year by taking home the obstacles only division. In the Pro Men division (which features air tricks as well as obstacles) Daniel Grant once again proved that just because he’s 14 doesn’t mean he’s not a serious threat anytime he’s on the water. Grant also took the top spot in the wakeskate division. The kid really is ridiculously good at riding a board sideways over water.

Stay tuned to alliancewake.com for video coverage from the second Wake Park Triple Crown stop at Hexagon Wake Park.

WWA Wake Park Triple Crown – TSR CableStock
May 3-6, 2012
Texas Ski Ranch
New Braunfels, Texas, USA

WWA Wake Park Triple Crown-Hexagon Wake Park
July 20-21, 2012
Hexagon Wake Park
Benson, North Carolina, USA

WWA Wake Park Triple Crown-OWC
September 14-15
Orlando Watersports Complex
Orlando, Florida, USA

About the WWA
The WWA Wake Park Triple Crown and the WWA Wake Park Series are the solely owned property of the World Wakeboard Association (WWA). The WWA also owns and operates the WWA Wakeboard World Series, WWA Wakeboard National Championships, WWA Wakeboard World Championships, WWA Wake Park National Championships, and WWA Wake Park World Championships. With 27 affiliate countries worldwide, the WWA is the global leader in the sport of wake. The WWA is a rider-formed organization dedicated to promoting and growing wake sports worldwide. It is the leading source for riders, event organizers and competitive standards. For more information on the WWA and its events, check out www.thewwa.com


Related Posts

About WWA

Rider-formed organization dedicated to promoting and growing competitive wake sports around the world.

join the WWA

Recent Posts

Newsletter Signup

Subscribe to our weekly newsletter below and never miss the latest event info or an exclusive offer.

Translate »