The WWA Announces Name Change Dedicated to All Wake Sports  

LAKE ALFRED, Fla. (September 6, 2016) – As the global leader in wake sports sanctioning, the World Wakeboard Association (WWA) is pleased to announce the undergoing of a name change to the World Wake Association, which will become effective for the 2017 season. Since the organization was founded in 1989, the WWA has been dedicated to the growth of competitive wake sports around the world and putting athletes first. Already equally encompassing all wake sports, the WWA name change is designed to better represent what the WWA is already doing and will continue with the same dedication towards promoting and growing all wake sports worldwide.

“I’m very excited about this change as we move forward.” said WWA President, Shannon Starling. “Former board member of the WWA, Matt Hickman, suggested this name change a few years ago, but the timing did not seem right even though I always knew this would eventually take place. Now with the current explosion of growth in all wake sports, the WWA must be proactive in being inclusive of all boards people that stand sideways and while being towed. This leads our growing organization into the future of towed watersports.”

It is clear that a name change is necessary to encompass all the sports that the WWA supports, from grassroots to world class professional events around the globe, including wakeboard, wakeskate, and wakesurf.  The continued surge in growth during the past several years has witnessed both, athlete participation and fan following, continue to reach all-new levels as these sports maintain a high level of progression. Always demonstrating commitment to growing and progressing all things wake, the WWA provides the best events and resources for men, women, and children of all ages and skill levels worldwide.  The name may change, but the WWA remains the same.

To learn more about upcoming events with The WWA CLICK HERE.

# # #

About the WWA
The World Wakeboard Association is the global leader in wake sports sanctioning. The WWA owns and operates the WWA Wakeboard World Series, WWA Wake Park World Series, WWA Wakeboard National Championships, WWA Wake Park National Championships, WWA Wakeboard World Championships, WWA Wake Park World Championships, WWA Wake Park Triple Crown, WWA Pro Card and WWA Rider Experience. With 27 affiliate countries worldwide, the WWA is a rider-formed organization dedicated to promoting and growing wake sports worldwide. It is the primary source for riders, event organizers and competitive standards. For more information on the WWA and its events, check out

Related Posts

About WWA

Rider-formed organization dedicated to promoting and growing competitive wake sports around the world.

join the WWA
Newsletter Signup

Subscribe to our weekly newsletter below and never miss the latest event info or an exclusive offer.

Translate »