16 Amateurs Crowned World Champion at the 2015 WWA Supra World Championships presented by Rockstar Energy Drink

16 Amateurs Crowned World Champion at the 2015 WWA Supra World Championships presented by Rockstar Energy Drink

Lake Alfred, Fla. (September 16, 2015) – At the end of day two in Ferreira Do Zerzere, Portugal, 16 amateurs were crowned WWA World Champions. Luca Kidd of Great Britain took the first win of the day with a variety of technical tricks that included a cuff wrapped toeside backside 540 over USA’s Fynn Bullock. Australia’s newest grom sensation Sam Brown, won himself another World Title in the Jr. Men’s Division as he put in a flawless run behind the Supra SE550. The Jr. Boy’s Beginner division saw an amazing run by Alex Wilson of Great Britain with a diverse run to take home the world championship and Blain Evans of USA won over fellow American Devin Tatro and Matiss Purkaus of Latvia in the Men’s 2 division.


“I can’t begin to explain how pumped I am to leave here crowned World Champ,” said Brown Supra Team Rider. “To win this competition two years in a row is amazing and I couldn’t be more thankful.”

The riders and their families have been loving the breathtaking area of Lago Azul on Castelo do Bode Lake. Portugal has one of the richest histories Europe has to offer with castles dating back to the 6th century founded by the Knights Templar. Just like their history, the local culture in Portugal is rich and everyone has been enjoying the local cuisine.

Advancing to the Men’s 1 division finals is USA’s Woody White and Cameron Steiner, along with Portugal’s Bernardo Branco and James Mott of Great Britain. Tyler Higham of USA won the top seed in his heat for tomorrow’s Jr. Pro Men semi-finals and in heat two another one of Australia’s best, Nic Rapa continued his heat winning streak with a qualifying win. After one of the most electrifying runs of the day Jesse Deemer took the semi-final round win over Portugal’s Renato Bosch, after landing both a tantrum and half cab roll behind the Supra SE550.

“I’m stoked to have landed both the tantrum and half cab roll,” said Deemer. “I’ve been working so hard this year and to see it paying off, feels great. The Supra SE550 provides us with an unbelievably good wake to ride which allows us to perform at our best.”


Andres Aliso made everyone proud as he became the first Portuguese World Champion of the weekend after winning the Pro Veterans division while Dayle Cartwright of the USA took the win in the Veterans (40 and over) division.

Portugal had more World Champions crowned as Tiago Miguel took home the Amateur Wakeskate Division championship and Joana Leitao winning the Women’s Wakeskate division in their home country.

Professional Men and Women’s qualifying gets underway tomorrow behind the Supra SE550’s as the world’s best will battle for top qualifying spots.



2015 WWA Supra Wakeboard World Championships Presented by Rockstar Energy – Ferreira Do Zezere, Portugal

Wednesday, September 17, 2015


Jr. Boys (9 and under)

  1. Olea, Xavier MEX    67

Boy’s (10-13)

  1. Kidd, Luca GBR     00
  2. Bullock, Fynn USA     67
  3. Colombo, Igor ITA       00
  4. Huser, Jamie SWI     33
  5. Zalpeteris, Janis LAT      00

Veterans (40 and over)

  1. Cartwright, Dayle USA     33
  2. Soto, Guillermo PRT      67
  3. Gulbis, Rudolfs LAT      00
  4. Colombo, Carmelo ITA      33

Pro Veterans

  1. Aliso, Andres PRT      00
  2. Lowe, Chad USA     00
  3. Hodgkins-Jaeuis, Brett ANU    67

Junior Men (14-18)

  1. Brown, Sam AUS     33
  2. De Oca Gende, Montes ITA 67
  3. Overmeer, Johann GBR         67
  4. Soprani, Lorenzo ITL            67

Men’s 2 (25-29)

  1. Evans, Blaine USA         33
  2. Tatro, Devin USA         00
  3. Purklaus, Matiss LAT          67

Junior Girls (9 and under)

  1. Faustino, Alice PRT          67
  2. Ferreira, Sara PRT          67

Girls (10-13)

  1. Aliza, Piana ITL            00
  2. Howell, Mary-Morgan USA         00

Junior Women

  1. Chiara, Virag ITA           00
  2. Petrie, Mackayla CDN        67
  3. Blake, Ashleigh AUS         67
  4. Segadaes, Ines PRT          00

Amateur Women (19-24)

  1. Clark, Chelsea USA         00
  2. Crescent, Morgan USA         33
  3. Costa, Ana PRT          00

Master Women

  1. Cunha, Ana PRT          33
  2. Marta, Rute PRT          67
  3. Bras, Oriana PRT          DQ

Veteran’s Women’s

  1. Manning, Joy USA         00
  2. Costa, Sofia PRT          33

Junior Boys Beginner

  1. Wilson, Alex GBR         00
  2. Gulbis, Ronalds LAT          00
  3. Gulbis, Toms LAT          00

Boy Beginner

  1. Overmeer, Louis GBR         33
  2. Gama Rocha, Luis PRT          33
  3. Segadaes, Xavier PRT          33

Amateur Wakeskate

  1. Miguel, Tiago PRT      33
  2. Ferreira, David PRT      00
  3. Braga, Luis PRT      00
  4. Braga, Daniel PRT      00

Women’s Wakeskate

  1. Leiteo, Joana PRT      33
  2. Vercesi, Heidi ITA      67
  3. Marta, Rute PRT      33



Men’s 1 (19-24)

  1. White, Woody USA     67
  2. Steiner, Cameron USA     00
  3. Branco, Bernardo PRT      00
  4. Mott, James GBR     67
  5. Souza, Francisco PRT      00
  6. Oliveira, Andre PRT      67
  7. Costa, Pedro PRT      00
    Top four advance to next round.

Masters (30-39) – Heat # 01

  1. Lopes, Francisco PRT      00
  2. Phillips, Richard GBR     67
  3. Lutz, Samuel LAT      00
  4. Linayskis, Roberts LAT      67
  5. Fairs, Fernando PRT      33
  6. Figueriedo, Francisco PRT      33
    Top two advance to next round.

Masters (30-39) – Heat # 02

  1. Araya, Andres ESP      67
  2. Canker, Nick USA     00
  3. Pereira, Soao PRT      00
  4. Phillips, Ross GBR     33
  5. Seabra, Filipe PRT      DQ
    Top two advance to next round.

Adaptive Standing

  1. Deemer, Jesse USA     00  
  2. Bosch, Renato PTR      67
    Top two advance to next round.


Jr. Pro Mens – Heat # 01

  1. Highman, Tyler USA     67
  2. Watt, Lewy AUS     67
  3. Holihan, Robby USA     00
  4. Brown, Nicholas USA     00
    Top four advance to next round.

Jr. Pro Mens – Heat # 02

  1. Rapa, Nic AUS     00
  2. Digney, Elliot AUS     67
  3. Bartley, Joel AUS     00
  4. Takahashi, Mizuki JPN      33
    Top four advance to next round.

Related Posts

About WWA

Rider-formed organization dedicated to promoting and growing competitive wake sports around the world.

join the WWA

Recent Posts

Newsletter Signup

Subscribe to our weekly newsletter below and never miss the latest event info or an exclusive offer.

Translate »