WBWS Pro Men and Women Suit Up for Qualifying at the 2015 WWA Supra World Championships presented by Rockstar Energy.

WBWS Pro Men and Women Suit Up for Qualifying at the 2015 WWA Supra World Championships presented by Rockstar Energy.


Lake Alfred, Fla. (September 17, 2015) – After awarding 16 Amateur World Championships yesterday, the pro men and women from the WWA Wakeboard World Series (WBWS) got behind the Supra SE550 today to compete for a top qualifying spot at the WWA Supra World Championships presented by Rockstar Energy.

Riders and their Families continued to enjoy Castelo do Bode Lake from its crystal clear water to the beautiful rolling mountains that surround it along with seeing the world’s best wakeboarders compete with such a beautiful backdrop. The Men’s Professional division was stacked with talented riders from around the globe itching for that top spot into the Semi-Finals. Shota Tezuka of Japan took the first heat win, while rookie and Supra Team rider Cory Teunissen took the second heat win with ease. USA’s Tony Caroll won heat three and Australia’s Tony Iacconi grabbed the heat four win, advancing them all into the next round where they will meet the top six riders in the WBWS standings, who are all prequalified for semi-finals.


“I’m stoked to have won my heat with how stacked the competition is here,” said Teunissen. “I felt very comfortable and relaxed riding behind the Supra SE550. The wake on the SE550 is unmatchable to any in the industry, which makes it so much fun to ride behind.”

In Heat one of the Jr. Pro Division Semi-Finals, Lewy Watt took the win followed by USA’s Robby Holihan and Tyler Higham. In heat two it was Nic Rapa in dominating fashion taking the win and advancing to the finals, along with Elliot Digney and Joey Bartley.

The pro women put on a great show with Nicola Butter, Meagan Ethell and Dallas Friday all winning their heats and advancing to the finals along with Raimi Merritt, Tarah Mikacich and Supra Team rider Taylor McCullough.

Semi-Finalist winner Andres Araya of Spain took home another win, being crowned World Champion in the Masters (30-39) division, while in the Adaptive division, Jesse Deemer rode his way to a World Championship as well.


With the competition level rising for the weekend, the pro men and women World Championships will be anyone’s for the taking, as four pro riders will be crowned “World Champion” tomorrow and will be celebrating at the MTV lake party that will wrap up the weekend.



2015 WWA Supra Wakeboard World Championships Presented by Rockstar Energy – Ferreira Do Zezere, Portugal

Friday, September 18, 2015


Adaptive Standing

  1. Deemer, Jesse USA     00
  2. Bosch, Renato PTR      67

Men’s 1 (19-24)

  1. White, Woody USA     00
  2. Branco, Bernardo PRT      67
  3. Steiner, Cameron USA     00
  4. Mott, James GBR     00

Masters (30-39)

  1. Araya, Andres ESP      00
  2. Lopes, Francisco PRT      67
  3. Cankar, Nick USA     67
  4. Phillips, Richard GBR     33

Top three advance to next round.

Men’s Professional – Heat # 01

  1. Tezuka, Shota JPN      00
  2. Twelker, Josh USA     33
  3. Came, Sam GBR     67
  4. Piffaretti, Massi ITL       00
  5. Adam, Damien MRI     00

Men’s Professional – Heat # 02

  1. Teunissen, Cory AUS     67
  2. Derome, Oli CDN     00
  3. Powers, Daniel USA     33
  4. Teunissen, Brad AUS     00
  5. Hansen, Trevor USA     00
  6. Yasui, Toshiki JPN      DQ

Men’s Professional – Heat # 03

  1. Carroll, Tony USA     00
  2. Smith, Dean AUS     33
  3. Watson, Shawn USA     33
  4. Siegeie, Parker AUS     00
  5. Cole, Ian USA     00

Men’s Professional – Heat # 04

  1. Iacconi, Tony AUS     33
  2. Flegel, Noah USA     00
  3. Malinoski, Rusty CDN     00
  4. Liesmannm Kirby USA     67
  5. Errington, Adam USA     33


Professional Wakeskate
Top four advance to next round.

  1. Hansen, Reed USA     67
  2. Grubb, Brian USA     00
  3. Polterrock, Austin USA     00
  4. Hampson, Danny USA     00
  5. Baizer, James CDN     00
  6. Dosta, Enric ESP      33
  7. Mendez, Cristobal USA     00

Women’s Professional – Heat # 01
Top two advance to next round.

  1. Butler, Nicola USA     00
  2. Merritt, Raimi USA     00
  3. Wilson, Corrie USA     67
  4. Deigoffe, Abby USA     00

Women’s Professional – Heat # 02
Top two advance to next round.

  1. Ethell, Meagan USA     00
  2. Mikacich, Tarah USA     33
  3. Rodriguez, Carolina MEX 67
  4. Morales, Larisa MEX     33
  5. Barker, Megan GBR     33

Women’s Professional – Heat # 03
Top two advance to next round.

  1. Friday, Dallas USA     00
  2. McCullough, Taylor USA     00
  3. Marquardt, Melissa USA     00
  4. Langman, Erika CDN     00
  5. Bryant, Charlotte CDN     00

Jr. Pro Men’s – Heat # 01
Top three advance to next round.

  1. Watt, Lewy AUS     00
  2. Holihan, Robby USA     00
  3. Higham, Tyler USA     00
  4. Brown, Nicholas USA     00

Jr. Pro Men’s – Heat # 02
Top three advance to next round.

  1. Rapa, Nic AUS     33
  2. Digney, Elliot USA     00
  3. Bartley, Joel AUS     00
  4. Takahashi, Mizuki JPN      67


Related Posts

About WWA

Rider-formed organization dedicated to promoting and growing competitive wake sports around the world.

join the WWA
Newsletter Signup

Subscribe to our weekly newsletter below and never miss the latest event info or an exclusive offer.

Translate »