World Wake Association Announces 2017 Asian Wake Series

(May 10, 2017) – The World Wake Association (WWA) is proud to announce the 2017 Asian Wake Series featuring three exciting stops heading to Taiwan, Japan, and Korea. As wakesports continue to experience rapid growth in Asia, the level of riding has reached an all-new caliber that demands a world-class competition platform.

The 2017 WWA Asian Wake Series has partnered with Malibu & Axis dealers throughout Asia to provide their world-class towboats at each event. The region’s top wakeboard and wakesurf athletes will be showcased at each stop competing to earn their spot on the WWA Asia rankings list and $58,000 USD in prize money. Overall Asian Wake Series champions will be crowned in each division at the WWA Asian Wake Championships.

“The WWA has been on the ground growing wake in Asia for over 28 years.  We are excited for this opportunity to join together with all of the like-minded people we call friends to expand on the growth of wake throughout Asia,” said WWA President Shannon Starling. “The Asian Wake Series gives us the ability to put Asian riders up on a pedestal in their region in an effort to build champions, moving towards the world-stage of wake in the future.”

2017 WWA Asian Wake Series Schedule:
Stop 1: WWA Asian Wake Series Miyoshi Lake Ikeda Japan
July 28-30 –  Miyoshi City, Japan
Stop 2: Taiwan Wakeboard & Wakesurf Open – WWA Asian Wake Series Taiwan 
August 4-6 – Keelung River, Taipei City, Taiwan

Stop 3:  WWA Asian Wake Championships
September 22-24 – Gimpo Ara Marina, Gimpo City, South KoreaDivisions:Novice (Men’s & Women’s) – No spins over 180, No Inverts.Intermediate (Men’s & Women’s) – Spins up to 360 and up to 2 inverts.Advanced (Men’s) – Spins up to 540 and No Mobes.

Open (Men’s & Women’s) – Anything goes.

Open Wakesurf (Men’s & Women’s) – Anything goes.

“I’ve been traveling to Asia and working with this passionate group of individuals for the past few years. I love the talent that we are going to see brought together all in one series. The Asian Wake Series is a true testament to the rapid global growth of everything wake, and a wonderful representation of our sport,” said WWA Executive Director Corrie Wilson.

# # #

About The WWA: Developed for riders by riders, the World Wake Association stands as a global network of passionate representatives dedicated to the growth of towed boardsports. Since 1989 our mission and values remain true to the core of our community. Our position as the authority on competitive standards has been earned through consistent development; sanctioning and producing more than 6,000 worldwide events and counting. We are the only organization solely focused on the best interests of the sport, spearheading a collective movement on the journey to discover where wake takes you. The WWA owns and operates the WWA Wakeboard World Series, WWA Wake Park World Series, WWA Wakeboard National Championships, WWA Wake Park National Championships, WWA Wakeboard World Championships, WWA Wake Park World Championships, WWA Wake Park Triple Crown, WWA Pro Card and WWA Rider Experience.  For more information on the World Wake Association, check

Related Posts

About WWA

Rider-formed organization dedicated to promoting and growing competitive wake sports around the world.

join the WWA

Recent Posts

Newsletter Signup

Subscribe to our weekly newsletter below and never miss the latest event info or an exclusive offer.

Translate »