World Wake Association Announces 2017 Wake Park World Series Schedule

(May 31, 2017) – The World Wake Association (WWA) announces the 2017 Wake Park World Series (WPWS) schedule including five stops to visit three continents with over $145,000 in prize money up for grabs. This marks the largest prize payout in wake park history. Globally recognized as the pinnacle of cable wakeboarding, the WWA Wake Park World Series features Pro Men Traditional and Features-Only divisions. Each season, new talent emerges and the level of riding transforms in terms of both mind-blowing tricks and new creative perspectives on style.

“After an amazing time competing in my first Wake Park World Series in 2016, I’m fired up for what’s to come this season. The cable scene has been growing tremendously and I know we’re going to be seeing some new faces at WPWS events all over the world. This is the biggest competitive arena in cable wakeboarding and the level of riding is just so insane you don’t know what to expect. I can’t wait to see where the WPWS is going to take us this year,” said defending WWA Wake Park World Series Champion Guenther Oka.

The most diverse field of competitors in wake, riders come from all walks of life and every part of the world. The Wake Park Word Series explores the sport’s growth each year, traveling to new parks, giving riders the opportunity to challenge themselves at the elite level. The 2017 season will start at BSR Cable Park in Waco, Texas for the WWA Wake Park National Championships on July 27-30. Stop two heads to Velocity Island in Woodland, CA for the California Wake Park Open on August 11-12. Wakeboard Portugal Resort at beautiful Lago Azul Lake will host stop three for the first ever two tower Features Only WPWS stop at the Wakeboard Portugal Pro on August 26-27. The WWA Wake Park World Championships will serve as stop four returning to the famous CamSur Watersports Complex September 29th – October 1st in Naga, PH. The fifth and final stop will take place in Korat, Thailand November 25-26 for the TWP Korat Open at the all-new TWP Korat venue.

“Cable parks opening all over the world have been the gateway for so many riders to experience wake, and in recent years the level has exploded on the WWA Wake Park World Series. We look forward to the continued growth of the sport and promoting the world’s elite wake park events with more stops in new, amazing locations worldwide,” said WWA President Shannon Starling. “At the end of the day it’s about giving riders the opportunity to showcase their talent against the best and the WWA will continue to provide them the best competitive outlet to do that worldwide.

2017 WWA Wake Park World Series

Stop 1 – Nautique WWA Wake Park National Championships
BSR Cable Park
Waco, Texas
July 27-30

Stop 2 – California Wake Park Open
Velocity Island
Woodland, California
August 11-12

Stop 3 – Wakeboard Portugal Pro (Features only, two towers)
Wakeboard Portugal Resort
Cable Lago Azul – Ferreira do Zezere, Portugal
August 26-27
(MTV Lake Party August 26th)

Stop 4 – Nautique WWA Wake Park World Championships
CamSur Watersports Complex
Naga, Philippines
September 29 – October 1

Stop 5 – TWP Korat Open
TWP Korat
Korat City, Thailand
November 25-26

                                                                                          # # #

About The WWA: Developed for riders by riders, the World Wake Association stands as a global network of passionate representatives dedicated to the growth of towed boardsports. Since 1989 our mission and values remain true to the core of our community. Our position as the authority on competitive standards has been earned through consistent development; sanctioning and producing more than 6,000 worldwide events and counting. We are the only organization solely focused on the best interests of the sport, spearheading a collective movement on the journey to discover where wake takes you. The WWA owns and operates the WWA Wakeboard World Series, WWA Wake Park World Series, WWA Wakeboard National Championships, WWA Wake Park National Championships, WWA Wakeboard World Championships, WWA Wake Park World Championships, WWA Wake Park Triple Crown, WWA Pro Card and WWA Rider Experience.  For more information on the World Wake Association, check out

Related Posts

About WWA

Rider-formed organization dedicated to promoting and growing competitive wake sports around the world.

join the WWA

Recent Posts

Newsletter Signup

Subscribe to our weekly newsletter below and never miss the latest event info or an exclusive offer.

Translate »