World Wake Association Announces 2018 Malibu WWA Asian Wake Series

(April 3, 2018) – The World Wake Association (WWA) and Malibu Boats are excited to announce the return of the Malibu WWA Asian Wake Series for 2018 with four stops heading to China, Taiwan, Japan and South Korea. This amazing series saw an explosion of growth in 2017 featuring Asia’s top riders and rising stars in premier locations.

The 2018 WWA Asian Wake Series has partnered with Malibu & Axis dealers throughout Asia to provide their world-class towboats at each event. The region’s wakeboard and wakesurf athletes will be showcased at each stop competing to earn their spot on the WWA Asia rankings list and prize money. Overall Asian Wake Series champions will be crowned in each division at the WWA Asian Wake Championships.

“The Malibu WWA Asian Wake Series has taken wakesports to an elite level in the region with amazing venues, event production, and competition. Our partners in Asia have taken our model and executed it flawlessly, setting an example for what wake competition can be anywhere in the world with the WWA. We are extremely excited to have the opportunity to expand this series with an additional stop and promote Asia’s incredibly talented wake community,” said WWA Executive Director Corrie Wilson.

2018 Malibu WWA Asian Wake Series Schedule:

Stop 1: Malibu WWA Asian Wake Series Macau
May 25-27:  Macau, China

Stop 2:  Malibu WWA Asian Wake Series Taiwan
July 13-15:  Taipei, Taiwan

Stop 3: Malibu WWA Asian Wake Series Japan 
July 27-29:  Kamamoto, Japan

Stop 4:  Malibu WWA Asian Wake Championships
September 7-9:  Gyeonggi-do, South Korea


Novice (Men’s & Women’s) – No spins over 180, No Inverts.

Intermediate (Men’s & Women’s) – Spins up to 360 and up to 2 inverts.

Advanced (Men’s) – Spins up to 540 and No Mobes.

Open (Men’s & Women’s) – Anything goes.

Open Wakesurf (Men’s & Women’s) – Anything goes.



About The WWA: Developed for riders by riders, the World Wake Association stands as a global network of passionate representatives dedicated to the growth of towed boardsports. Since 1989 our mission and values remain true to the core of our community. Our position as the authority on competitive standards has been earned through consistent development; sanctioning and producing more than 12,500 worldwide events and counting. We are the only organization solely focused on the best interests of the sport, spearheading a collective movement on the journey to discover where wake takes you. The WWA owns and operates the WWA Wakeboard World Series, WWA Wake Park World Series, WWA Wakeboard National Championships, WWA Wake Park National Championships, WWA Wakeboard World Championships, WWA Wake Park World Championships, WWA Wake Park Triple Crown, WWA Pro Card and WWA Rider Experience.  For more information on the World Wake Association, check


Related Posts

About WWA

Rider-formed organization dedicated to promoting and growing competitive wake sports around the world.

join the WWA
Newsletter Signup

Subscribe to our weekly newsletter below and never miss the latest event info or an exclusive offer.

Translate »